SSI Disability Qualifications

For adults, the SSI disability qualifications are listed by the U.S. government’s Social Security Administration. SSI, or Supplemental Security Income, is need-based, while SSDI requires a certain number of work credits – the person has to have worked a certain number of years in a job from which his or her payroll tax went to cover Social Security costs.

Supplemental Security Income Medical Conditions

Here are those medical conditions:

  • Senses and speech issues, such as vision and hearing loss
  • Digestive tract problems, such as liver disease and inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
  • Respiratory illnesses, such as asthma and cystic fibrosis
  • Neurological disorders, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, Parkinson’s disease, and epilepsy
  • Mental disorders, such as depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, autism, or intellectual disability
  • Cardiovascular conditions, such as chronic heart failure or coronary artery disease
  • Musculoskeletal problems, such as back conditions and other dysfunctions of the joints and bones
  • Blood disorders, such as sickle cell disease or hemophilia
  • Immune system disorders, such as HIV/AIDS, lupus, rheumatoid arthritis, and kidney disease

For children, the list of qualifying medical conditions is very similar, but also includes growth impairment. For a full list of impairments for both adults and children under the age of 18, please visit

If you have an impairment that is not on the list, you still may qualify for SSDI or SSI. Your medical condition must be supported by clinical reports – that is, it must be the subject of laboratory testing, and considered a “medically determinable impairment.”